Digital Humanities at Michigan State University is proud to continue the Global DH Symposium into its historic tenth year, and its third year as a combination of virtual and in-person events. Digital humanities scholarship continues to be driven by work at the intersections of a range of distinct disciplines and an ethical commitment to preserve and broaden access to cultural materials.

DH has been a key site for interrogating narratives about disruption, connection, virtuality, surveillance, algorithmic bias, data and resistance, the digital divide, and digital accountabilities. In this moment, shaped by a global pandemic and climate crisis, these narratives and conversations are as urgent as ever. 

Focused on these issues, we work at the intersections of critical DH; race and ethnicity; feminism, intersectionality, and gender; and anti-colonial and postcolonial frameworks. Scholarship that works across borders with a focus on transnational partnerships and globally accessible data is especially welcome. Lastly, we define the term “humanities” rather broadly to incorporate the discussion of issues that encourage interdisciplinary understanding of the humanities.

2025 Planning Committee

Listed in alphabetical order by surname

  • Heather F. BALL, St. John’s University, USA
  • Jesse DRAPER, H-Net, USA
  • Max EVJEN, Michigan State University, USA
  • Viola LASMANA, California State University Long Beach, USA
  • Kristen MAPES , Michigan State University, USA (Co-Chair)
  • Kate TOPHAM, Michigan State University, USA (Co-Chair)
  • Steven WANG, University of Kansas, USA

2025 Advisory Committee

Listed in alphabetical order by surname

  • Airen E. ADETIMIRIN, University of Ibadan, Nigeria
  • Ayodele James AKINOLA, Michigan Technological University, USA
  • Agarzelim ALVAREZ-MILÁN, UDEM, Mexico
  • Jen ANDRELLA, Knox College, USA
  • Devin HIGGINS, Michigan State University, USA
  • Jennifer ISASI, Pennsylvania State University, USA
  • Arun JACOB, University of Toronto, Canada
  • Jon KEUNE, Michigan State University, USA
  • Ayo OSISANWO, University of Ibadan, Nigeria
  • Husnain RAZA, University of Verona, Italy
  • Merve TEKGÜRLER, Stanford University, USA
  • Aparna ZAMBARE, Central Michigan University, USA